Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
> Aurélism
10 août 2007

Sing-a-long-song

Sorry all... It is not necessarily really nice to hear, but last week while I was in France, a question which comes up fairly often from the froggies came once again...: "how come Brits can listen to songs with such shallow lyrics?".
As you all know... I love you all Brits as much as my heart can but I have to confess that on this particular subject the only explanation I could find so far was that you basically hardly ever listen what a song is about... (if some of you do, please add a comment below, even insults are accepted as everyone know I am a real masochist anyway ;).
And I have to say that lots of really popular singer at the moment have well understood that and don't bother to write anything really interesting which could have a sort of message a bit deeper than they got dumped by their girlfriend (easy example I know, and by the way, I said lots of them and not all of them...)


To give you an example, can anyone explain to me the deep meaning of the song written below (I did not feel brave enough to copy and paste the whole text), sung back in the days by probably the most famous British band ever: The Beatles?

HELLOGOODBYEps


Hello Goodbye

You say yes, i say no.
You say stop and i say go go go, oh no.
You say goodbye and i say hello
Hello hello
I don't know why you say goodbye, i say hello  
Hello hello 
I don't know why you say goodbye, i say hello.




To be honest, compared to some really deeply poetic French songs, I quite appreciate sometimes not to have to think too much about the deep meaning of lyrics... But there are limits... And so far there seem to be... Where The Beatles started...

"Music is a really efficient way to associate ideas." - David Lynch

Publicité
Commentaires
A
Thanks for your nice comment! As you could see there are not many comments left by the readers even if the stats are telling me there are more and more every single day! ;) <br /> So promise! I will keep up writing!
S
I've just read a few of your messages, and I must say, I've laughed ! Go on, and I'll come and read you again.
Publicité