Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
> Aurélism
29 juin 2007

I love Paris

ParisAs you might know, I recently headed back to my dear Gaellic country, and especially in "ze mooooooooooooooooooooost beautiful city of ze wooooooooooooooorld". Indeed, I am talking about Paris... How did you get that?

Even if I lived over there for a year, I have to confess I am still a sort of Parisoholic (I did not say Parisianoholic, thank you), especially fond of the biggest cliché of this city that is the Eiffel Tower...

Indeed, the Iron Lady is still making me shiver (in a positive sense) whenever I go back and whatever is the weather... If the fantasy of lots of women would be to spend a night with Brad Pitt, mine would be to be left alone in the Eiffel Tower (which is by the way a female in the French language... Wouhou!) for at least an hour.

Anyway, 2 weeks after my return, I saw on the BBC1 last Tuesday a programm in which a lovely young French lady wiz an accent I waz feeling ashamed for er was presenting her city... Paris. The thing is... This  young lady was actually from Nantes (and I am even less nantaisoholic than parisianoholic...) Oh well, after 2 minutes I was already fed up but stayed for a little while to appreciate the quality of her knowledge of superlatives and her usage of the adjectives "wonderful" and "beautiful"... I should have counted how many times she used one of those in each sentence... I am sure I would have reached at least 1,000.

Anyway, from now on, I understand and won't disagree that with such a programm, all Brits will be more than allowed to say that Frenchies are just arrogants "full of themselves" etc... Even in front of me...

« To compare is just a way for an ignorant to avoid judging by himself. » - Goethe

Publicité
Commentaires
L
I'm not so arrogant you know!<br /> <br /> But I think as this lady does that Paris is beauuuuuuutiful!<br /> <br /> Parisian are arrogant, French eat froggies, german eat sausages, egyptian are mummies,......british eat fish and chips....<br /> <br /> Dont touch my eiffel tower please. it's mine, I love it, she 's so arrogant!<br /> <br /> have a nice week end
A
Indeed... But apparently there has been as well a big polemic about the Eiffel Tower, saying that it would mess up the beautiful parisian landscape... In the same way that high buildings nowadays (forbidden in Paris actually, after the Montparnasse Tower got erected)... Oh well... French people you know! ;)
A
tour eiffel - arguably beautiful (p. verlaine used to change street to avoid it), but absolutely sublime (to me)!<br /> <br /> it resembles (to me) a monster looking over the city, a sort of pre-historical being... funny that when it was put up (for a temporary exhibition), it was an engineering pride and symbol of avantguard... <br /> <br /> X
Publicité