Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
> Aurélism
7 janvier 2009

Ghost Train

If there are a few things I would have to admit, Brits are really good at, I would say beer, crisps (especially the packaging) and saying they are sorry (I find it sort of annoyingly sweet). - I could obviously make it longer but it would be boring afterall.

BUT there are also things they are really bad at and one thing in particular would be trains.

And I actually think that the real reason why the British Islands were so reluctant at getting the Eurostar was not due to the fear of loosing their insular status, but because they would have to admit their uncapacity to manage anything moving on tracks and leave it to the eternal ennemy - i.e. the French.

As a matter of fact, I take the Eurostar on a regular basis to get my montlhly overdose of stincky cheese and grumpiness and I NEVER experienced any delay from Paris to London (and I would remember it since I always catch the first Monday morning train to turn up on time at work so my boss would point it out) while on Friday nights from London to Paris I can expect at least a good half an hour delay, to be able to enjoy the freezing temperatures of the coaches and arrive fashionably late which is anyway, a Parisian trademark.

Even a friend of mine - English and proud to be - recently admitted in front of me that the British railway has certainly one of the most obscure working system. And for a simple reason: the British rail network refuse to have the minimum of organisation that would provide as a result an efficient service. I actually experienced it on a daily basis (before I eventually decided to cycle) that a train going EVERYDAY from the station A to B was NEVER stopping on the same plateform... I appreciate the surprising effect of such a system that can make your day eventful while being stuck in the coach, wondering when the hell you are gonna be able to step out at least 3 times a week (Especially on summer days, when you have to enjoy the guy's-who-doesn't-what-perspirant-is 's armpit stuck upon your nose).  Especially when you think that the price of the monthly travel card would be able to feed a family of 5 for a year in Sudan... But that's becoming too political to be mentioned.

The funny thing is that I recently travelled to India where I have to say - I was expecting chaos since their railway service was set up by the Brits. What a surprise to see that on top of being dead cheap, the India railway is far more efficient than anything I have seen in my life...

Anyway, let's stop mourning for a sec and enjoy the freezing temperatures that at least makes a 45 min-journey in the underground handable and I wish you all a Happy New Year!

432_contact_train

"I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read in the train." - Oscar Wilde


Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité